02
Jan
12

The Sound of Music

We’ve been watching a lot of movies as we pack everything away for the move, mostly old favorites (Dirty Dancing!) or things you can leave playing in the background without losing too much (Mega Piranha!), since moving is a sad, stressful, lonely time when everything fun is getting packed away and the apartment looks terrible and I need all the help I can get. But we’ve also been watching a lot of things in general, including old standards that Vicky or I somehow haven’t gotten around to seeing yet. So: The Sound of Music.

Let me just say right at the beginning that I don’t particularly care for Rodgers and Hammerstein. Neither their lyrics nor their music are anything more than workmanlike, without the complicated, challenging syncopation of Sondheim or the anything-goes lyricism of Menken and Ash. Still, though, they’ve got a knack for putting together beautiful projects that transcend the rumpty-tum material they write: there’s no question that the Sound of Music absolutely deserves its place at the table, despite an opening act so saccharine it causes cancer in lab rats.

It’s such a filmic movie — we watched it on a tiny little laptop screen, and I found myself longing mightily to see it in a proper movie theater, even as I groaned my way through the glurge of My Favorite Things and Do-Re-Mi. Director Robert Wise captures the sheer dazzling space of his mountain vistas in a way I’ve never seen before. And then the script is fantastic, and underplayed magnificently by the supporting cast. Eleanor Parker and Richard Haydn especially, as the Baroness and Uncle Max, do amazing things with very small roles. Peggy Wood got the Oscar nomination for Best Supporting Actress, which doesn’t make any sense to me; her abbess is solid, certainly, but it’s a fairly standard role played in a fairly standard way, while Parker as Julie Andrews’s romantic rival takes a traditionally misogynistic and one-dimensional villain role and makes it immensely human. And not just human, but actually adult: she respects Maria enough to actually talk to her about her intentions and interests in Captain von Trapp, and very visibly understands what it costs Maria to congratulate her on her engagement. She makes the simple line “Thank you,” sad, respectful and triumphant all at once, and by such little gestures makes her character empathetic and even a little tragic (very slightly, since she is, after all, immensely wealthy and self-sufficient).

And everything after the wedding is so absolutely perfect: moving, tense and funny all at the same time, and crammed to the gills with beautiful shots, rotating between German Expressionism, mid-century Impressionism and the very beginnings of that wonderful seventies silence that you never see anymore. Anyway. You’ve probably seen it, and if you haven’t, you should. Feel free to roll your eyes at the sentiment that bloats the beginning, but trust that things will settle down at last. If you’re absolutely allergic to sweetness, just jump ahead to the last half hour, and prepare to be schooled.

15 Responses to “The Sound of Music”


  1. April 22, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    I love what you guys are usually up too. This kind of
    clever work and coverage! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

  2. April 22, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for Rusty Hearts Reborn Hacks
    hack download

  3. April 23, 2013 at 12:39 am

    You should take part in a contest for one of the greatest sites online.
    I am going to recommend this web site!

  4. April 23, 2013 at 1:02 am

    Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a stuff! existing here at this webpage, thanks admin of this web site.

  5. May 11, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam
    responses? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?

    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.

  6. July 12, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    I’m not sure exactly why but this website is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later on
    and see if the problem still exists.

  7. July 25, 2013 at 9:57 am

    I’m very pleased to uncover this great site. I wanted to thank you for ones time for this particularly wonderful read!! I definitely really liked every bit of it and i also have you saved as a favorite to see new stuff in your site.

  8. August 17, 2013 at 12:47 am

    Great post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I am impressed!

    Very useful info particularly the final part :) I take
    care of such information much. I was looking for this
    certain info for a long time. Thanks and good luck.

  9. August 17, 2013 at 9:27 am

    This web site really has all of the info I wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  10. August 22, 2013 at 11:56 am

    I go to see daily some web pages and websites to read articles or reviews, except this weblog provides quality based posts.

  11. September 19, 2013 at 4:44 am

    obviously like your web-site however you have to take
    a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. A number
    of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very bothersome to tell the truth
    however I’ll certainly come back again.

  12. February 9, 2014 at 2:04 pm

    Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so
    I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information.
    I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Fantastic blog and outstanding design.

  13. April 4, 2014 at 5:03 am

    This means you have to control your arousal so that you don’t get overly excited. On the night of the April full moon some items (such as our peas) are sowed directly into the garden by the moonlight.

  14. April 20, 2014 at 5:09 am

    That is a really good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate information… Appreciate your
    sharing this one. A must read post!

  15. April 23, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    What’s up to every body, it’s my first visit of this website; this website includes amazing and truly fine data for visitors.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

